What States Are A Commonwealth? There are four states in the United States that call themselves commonwealths: Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. The distinction is in name alone. The commonwealths are just like any other state in their politics and laws, and there is no difference in their relationship to the nation as a whole.

What does it mean being a commonwealth state? Nowadays, a commonwealth has come to mean any government in which all people involved have a say, or a loose formation of nations with a shared loyalty. It is also the official designation of a few states including, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia and some U.S. territories.

What is the benefit of living in a commonwealth state? You Have Greater Freedom and Prosperity in a Commonwealth. When you live in a commonwealth, you will have greater freedom to make and keep your wealth. Believe it or not, in some countries, a person cannot obtain wealth without someone taking it from them.

What is the benefit of being in the Commonwealth?

We help to strengthen governance, build inclusive institutions and promote justice and human rights. Our work helps to grow economies and boost trade, empower young people, and address threats such as climate change, debt and inequality.

What is the difference between a commonwealth and a territory?

While similar, a “commonwealth” has a slightly more developed relationship to the U.S. than a “territory” does. Unlike the 50 states, U.S. territories do not have the same representation in Congress and do not have the same rights as states.

Why isn’t the US part of the Commonwealth?

While the USA was a part of British empire but it did not leave like other countries like Canada, new Zealand. USA Gaines independence way earlier than those countries, so when commonwealth was formed, USA had moved far away from culture, political influence of Britain, so they did not join.

Why is Canada part of the Commonwealth?

With Confederation in 1867, Canada became the first federation in the British Empire; its size, economic strength and seniority enabled it to become a leader in the widening of colonial autonomy and the transformation of the empire into a commonwealth of equal nations.

What are the problems of commonwealth?

One of the problems of the Commonwealth is that when member states refuse to comply with decisions arrived at during a summit, the organization does not have the power to enforce it. In the absence of this power to enforce, the organization rather depends on the commitment and willingness of the members to comply.

Why Is Massachusetts a commonwealth?

Legally, Massachusetts is a commonwealth because the term is contained in the Constitution. In the era leading to 1780, a popular term for a whole body of people constituting a nation or state (also known as the body politic) was the word “Commonwealth.” This term was the preferred usage of some political writers.

What rights do Commonwealth citizens have?

Outside the United Kingdom, in some member states Commonwealth citizens also initially retained eligibility to vote in elections, to preferred paths to citizenship, and to welfare benefits. These privileges were removed on independence in most countries but retained in some.

Can I move to a Commonwealth country?

There are some general immigration benefits for Commonwealth citizens looking to immigrate to fellow Commonwealth nations: As a Commonwealth citizen, you may be entitled to visa-free entry into a fellow Commonwealth nation if the country you’re traveling from is deemed to be in good standing.

Is USA a Commonwealth country?

The term commonwealth is also still used beyond the US, notably in the Commonwealth of Nations – a 53 country intergovernmental group which includes countries such as Canada, Australia, South Africa, and India — where nearly all the countries share a history of being ruled by the British Empire as a territory or colony …

Which U.S. Territories have neither the status of state or commonwealth?

The political status of Puerto Rico is that of an unincorporated territory of the United States. As such, the island of Puerto Rico is neither a sovereign nation nor a U.S. state.

Why is Virginia a Commonwealth?

Since 1776, Virginia has been a “commonwealth.” It associated with other colonies through a Continental Congress starting in 1775, and became part of a confederation with other former colonies in 1781. Virginia became one of the “united” states when the Constitution was ratified in 1788.

Can the US join the Commonwealth?

The US doesn’t qualify to join the Commonwealth it is country freed itself by revolt, i.e., without the blessing of the king. The US doesn’t do monarchies, even constitutional ones. The Treaty of London, 28 April 1949, created the current Commonwealth of Nations and recognized King George VI as the head.

Which country is the last member of Commonwealth?

In 1949, the London Declaration marked the birth of the modern Commonwealth and the adoption of its present name. The newest member is Rwanda, which joined on 29 November 2009.

Does Canada pay taxes to the Queen?

The sovereign similarly only draws from Canadian funds for support in the performance of her duties when in Canada or acting as Queen of Canada abroad; Canadians do not pay any money to the Queen or any other member of the royal family, either towards personal income or to support royal residences outside of Canada.

Is Canada still controlled by England?

Canada has been a monarchy for centuries – first under the kings of France in the sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, then under the British Crown in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and now as a kingdom in her own right.

Who is Canada owned by?

The land of Canada is solely owned by Queen Elizabeth II who is also the head of state. Only 9.7% of the total land is privately owned while the rest is Crown Land. The land is administered on behalf of the Crown by various agencies or departments of the government of Canada.

Why is Kentucky a commonwealth?

Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Virginia, and Kentucky are all commonwealths. So what makes them different from the rest of the 50 states? Literally nothing. They are commonwealths simply because their state constitutions say they’re commonwealths.

How does the Commonwealth work?

The member states’ heads of government make up the primary decision-making component of the Commonwealth. The Head of the Commonwealth, a title historically belonging to the British Crown, is largely ceremonial. Succession to the post is non-hereditary and is determined by the Heads of Government.

Why is Ky called a commonwealth?

“So I think that’s just another legacy of having been a part of Virginia.” Massachusetts and Pennsylvania are the country’s other two commonwealths. In 1792, Virginia’s Kentucky County became its own state, and also decided to take on the name “commonwealth.”